content-shadow-left content-shadow-right

Blog

Lundy's Lane Battlefield
14/10/2016 by David Jovanovic

Battle Of  Lundys  Lane  Logo

Located at the eastern end of Lundy’s Lane is the National Historic Site of the Battle of Lundy’s Lane. Fought on July 25, 1814, over 6000 soldiers representing the United States, Great Britain and their Native Allies battled through hot, dark and smoky conditions. This is known as the bloodiest battle of the War of 1812 and is the second bloodiest battle to occur on Canadian soil.

The Niagara Falls Museums have produced a walking tour of the battlefield. The tour can be picked up at the Niagara Falls History Museum on Ferry Street, which is also a good starting point of the tour (approximately 1.7km in distance). Follow the trail on the map to experience the American advance and the British defense on the Lundy’s Lane Battlefield. You can also download the walking tour of the Battle of Lundy’s Lane.

The Battlefield is located steps from the Museum and the area has historical markers to provide information about the Battle and history of the neighbourhood to provide a great experience. To get a sense of what tourism to the battlefield was like in the 1850s, visit us at the Battle Ground Hotel Museum. This Museum is open seasonally on weekends.

The cemetery is the focal point of the battle, with the Battle of Lundy’s Lane Memorial being the most pronounced marker on the field. The beautiful Copper Beech Tree is another feature of the property, along with memorials and tombstones for various American and Canadian soldiers who fought in the Battle of Lundy’s Lane and several others who didn’t.

The Battle of Lundy’s Lane was fought between the British and the Americans on the highest point of land in Niagara Falls, along the portage road that went around the great cataract. In 1814, American forces started a third year of battles with another Niagara campaign. Niagara was a focal point throughout the war and was strategically critical. The Americans crossed at Fort Erie, took that fort and proceeded to head north eventually penning the British in at Fort George. After much back and forth between Fort George and Chippawa, the British took a stand at the heights that is now called Drummond Hill and set up their artillery to stop the Americans from heading to Burlington Heights and cutting off the British supply line.

Under heavy fire the Americans took the British Artillery and turned the guns on the British. The British sent several waves of forces at the guns and both sides suffered heavy losses. As the sun rose in the morning, the Americans left the hill in need of water and the British retrieved their artillery.

Visit the battlefield and see the British trench line, the grave of Canada’s most famous heroine from the War of 1812 (Laura Secord), statues, the beautiful copper beech tree planted as a legacy of the war and the Memorial Statue

The most famous individual buried in the cemetery is Laura Secord, whose exploits during the Battle of Beaver Dams is known by most Canadians.

Images on this page are courtesy of the Niagara Falls Museums  https://niagarafallsmuseums.ca/

Image result for lundy's lane battlefield

 

Gale Family War of 1812 Gallery

Location: Niagara Falls History Museum

A gallery dedicated to the history of the War of 1812 and the impact of the War on the citizens of Niagara Falls. In the spring of 1812, war broke out between the United States and Britain. The conflict was focused on the British North American colonies, notably along the border between Upper Canada and the Northeast United States. From the onset of the War, Niagara Falls was involved in the American invasion into the peninsula and was the scene of the Battle of Chippawa and the Battle of Lundy’s Lane.

 

The collections of the Niagara Falls Museums contain many important artifacts related to the War of 1812. Explore the history that changed a nation in vivid colour, with images, artifacts, videos and hands-on experiences meant to put you in the action.

Date Ongoing

 

  • Niagara Falls Museum stair way
  • 1812 battle uniforms
  • Muskets



Militia Coatee 

This Militia coatee belonged to James Thompson. During the War of 1812, Thompson served as an Ensign of the 2nd Flank Company (also known as Hamilton's Company) of the 2nd Lincoln Militia. His company served at Queenston Heights, Frenchman's Creek, Fort Niagara, Black Rock and Fort Schlosser. Thompson fought and was wounded at the Battle of Lundy's Lane. After the war he was promoted to lieutenant of the Lincoln Militia and later a captain of the First Battalion of the Welland Militia.
 
The Thompson family were United Empire Loyalists who settled in Niagara during the American Revolution and built the Whirlpool Farm, located along River Road. The Whirlpool Farm was torn down by Ontario Hydro when the Queenston Generating Station was built in 1917.
 
This coat was conserved by the Canadian Conservation Institute in Ottawa and took a total of 430 hours to clean and repair the fabric and epaulet, buttons and lace.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Secord Bonnet
This mid-19th century bonnet belonged to Laura Secord during her later years living in Chippawa, now part of Niagara Falls. Niagara civilians were greatly affected by the conflict in the border region. During the war Laura’s husband was wounded in battle, her home was occupied and she felt compelled to make a risky journey to warn the British of the threat of attack for which she is now recognized as a wartime hero.















Battlefield Discoveries Lundy’s Lane battlefield is the site of the bloodiest battle of the War of 1812. Battlefield discoveries include cloth fragments, part of a boot sole, small tools and other soldier’s belongings.

Battlefield tourism lured entrepreneurs who erected viewing towers and offered amenities. Today the Battle of Lundy’s Lane is commemorated through a legacy of monuments and ceremony.

Battlefield Tourism

 

comments